Love Yourself First!

When I was 14, I read a story about a girl who sent a note to herself on the Valentine’s Day event of her school. The note said- ‘I love you for who you are.’ The story was titled-‘Love yourself first’ and it did make me consider the idea of being able to love yourself. When I think of it, I can proudly and blissfully declare that I love myself and there is nothing really wrong about it. When I love myself, I do not believe that I am self-centred or fanatical or anything of that sort. It just makes me feel good about the person I am, the values and principles of life that I tag along, the friends I have made, the hobbies I pursue, the manner in which I ruminate and identify with the things around me. It makes me feel contented to recognize that I accept myself the way I am; I am comfortable in my skin; I am completely agreeable to the fact that I am proficient at certain things and awful at many others, but sure, I can’t be perfect.

love-yourself

Lord Buddha said – “You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.” My theory about this whole subject of self-love is that you can never be pleased with the life you are leading unless you love yourself because this very thing can let you be poised and affirmative. I truly do not intend to go on with my musings for long so I give you some things that you can reflect on. I know why I love myself and I hope you know the reasons as well. Let’s see how many of these you connect with and subsequently we’ll decide whether you are worthy enough of your own love:

I love myself because:

  1. I have two eyes to see, two ears to hear, a tongue to taste, two hands to work, two legs to walk, a heart to feel, a mind to think and a soul to believe.
  2. I know how to smile even with tears in my eyes.
  3. I cry when things get real bad and the tears make me appreciate the truth that I have the right and the privilege to express myself when I feel like
  4. I enjoy the food I eat, the music I hear, the movies I watch, the stuff I read. Precisely, I enjoy life.
  5. I love my friends.
  6. I feel terrible when I hurt someone.
  7. I know I have the power to make others smile and I am pretty good at that.
  8. I can understand jokes and can laugh with all my heart.
  9. I can accept criticism, constructively.
  10. I respect others’ feelings
  11. I have my own stand and views on almost everything happening around. I have my own voice and I revere that.
  12. I love putting in efforts to make people realize how special they are.
  13. I try to understand the wrong I do and believe in self-improvement.
  14. I can cook a decent meal when needed.
  15. I can talk to people for hours and make them feel not-so-lonely.
  16. I enjoy spending time with myself.
  17. I hope that ‘There is always hope.’
  18. I commend and admire people for who they are.
  19. I help anyone in need in any way I can.
  20. I love to read.
  21. I have this thing called ‘inner strength’.
  22. I do not forget the person I am
  23. I dream.
  24. I willingly use the words ‘Sorry’ and ‘Thank you’ from time to time. Thus, I express apologies and gratitude unperturbedly.
  25. I cannot sing melodiously, I cannot paint like an artist, I am not good at shopping, I do not know how to wear nail-paint, I am not a remarkable dancer, I am not a tremendous cook but at the end of the day, I never stop trying and I do all of it(if required lol)
  26. I write whenever I feel like.
  27. I am not self-obsessed and I accept my flaws with dignity.
  28. I do not mind eating alone in a restaurant
  29. I am okay with trying out new things from time to time.
  30. I love to make new friends
  31. God created me 🙂

(And of course there is a lot more, as usual.)

Anyway, what are you waiting for? Make your own list of things for which you love yourself and believe me, even a single reason is big enough to apprehend that you are a special person.

No matter what age you are, or what your circumstances might be, you are special, and you still have something unique to offer. Your life, because of who you are, has meaning.
– Barbara de Angelis

8 responses to “Love Yourself First!

  1. Nice Post. There are just so many things to be happy about … 🙂

    Reminds me of a nice Kindle book, I read few days back named “Love Yourself Like Your Life Depends On It”. It talks about the same concept with a different perspective. Worth Reading too… 🙂

Come on, Tell me what you think!

